Feeding Baby

 

I woke up this morning with one thought: whole wheat waffles. Upon exercising a Google recipe search, I stumbled upon a recipe for CHOCOLATE WHOLE WHEAT WAFFLES! They came with this picture; how could I resist?

Heaven.

I have to give recognition to the beautiful woman who posted this recipe, Ozoz, the Kitchen Butterfly.

****************************************************************

You’ll need

A waffle iron

For the Waffle mix

1 1/2 cups (200g) wholewheat flour
a good pinch of salt
1/2 cup (50g) unsweetened cocoa powder or melted chocolate
2 teaspoons baking powder
2 large eggs
1 3/4 cups (400g) milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract (or cinnamon/ground ginger)
3 tablespoons vegetable oil (or melted butter)
1/4 cup (25g) yoghurt

To serve

Icing (confectioner’s) sugar, to dust
Creme Fraiche
Strawberries or Bananas
Vanilla maple syrup (or regular maple syrup)
Makes 8 – 10 waffles, measuring ~15cm (6 inches) across
Steps to the preparationSift the flour, salt, cocoa, and baking powder into a bowl

Make a well in the centre and add the eggs, milk, vanilla, oil and yoghurt and mix well with a ballon whisk until blended and the batter is smooth

Because you’re using wholegrain flour, you’ll need to let the batter ‘rest’ for about 10 minutes. This allows the grains to absorb the liquids, resulting in softer, fluffier waffles.

***********************************************************************
Now, the recipe doesn’t have any sugar in the batter, so I added some chocolate chips (probably too many, but can you really have too many?) This made the waffles incredibly sweet and delicious, but very rich. I ate too and regretted it as much as a person can regret eating two delicious chocolate-y things, which is not very much. A glass of milk was good protein and calcium for baby and helped calm the chocolate nature of my breakfast. I think they would be very delicious with just a dollop of whipped cream (that I was too lazy to make despite the unusual carton of heavy whipping cream I have in my fridge this week).
Anyway, baby update: She is growing GROWING! I am now 42″ ’round (or as Ryan puts it “big”–ha ha, an unfortunate wording error he once made while trying to make up a cute little song on the spot).
Elliott is very active, rolling and punching around in there. I wish I was see-through so I could tell what she was doing in there. It’s one of the greatest mysteries of my life!
According to Babycenter, she weighs a pound and 2/3, and she is 14″ long, like an English hothouse cucumber.

my little cucumber

I can’t believe I start my third trimester next week. This pregnancy is truly flying by. It’s made me realize how quickly 9 months can elapse when your enjoying every minute of it. Baby clothes are so sweet and tiny. I love when the have little footies for the tiniest little feet!
Also, I’m looking to buy a digital SLR camera to take gorgeous picture of my beautiful little girl when she’s in out in the air with us, so if any of you see a good deal out there, let me know!
Make those waffles and enjoy them!
-Emily
3 responses

Leave a Reply

