What is this!

Well, we enjoyed a fantastic visit from my mom, or Grandma Hudson as she’s come to be called, this past weekend. It was great to have her here, and not just because she did our dishes! As much as I missed getting all the baby cuddle time to myself, I loved watching Elliott enjoy the opportunity to cuddle with and play with her Grandma. And Grandma got to see how totally awesome her grand-daughter is. We enjoyed spending quiet time at home, some tired time at the park and some Halloween time at the church Halloween party.

Grandma bought some new toys for Elliott, which opened her eyes to the joy of all things that squeak, rattle, jingle or kiss her repeatedly. And Elliott even has a new favorite toy. Her very first! It’s a doll that squeaks, and every time we squeak her, Elliott’s face lights up in smiles and coos. When she reaches out and stuffs that doll’s hands into her mouth, my heart melts.

Park!:

Wordpress won't save this as a verticle picture... sorry!

I don’t know why wordpress wouldn’t let me save those last two pictures as vertical pictures, but whatever. You get the idea 🙂

For Halloween we went as characters from the show Adventure Time. I was Princess Bubblegum, Ryan was Finn the Human, and Elliott was Jake the Dog. There was a lot of felt sewing involved, but the costumes came out great, and we had a great time.

As far as everything else goes, we are doing quite well. I’m enjoying  staying home and taking care of Elliott, and getting some work done on projects that had been on the back-burner, and our new smaller budget has been relatively kind to us! In exciting news, Ryan found out he could graduate with a PhD as early as 2013, which is about 3 years sooner than we thought it would take! We’re aiming for 2014, since Ryan still has some important classes to take to meet his degree requirements, but I was thrilled to see an end to our cramped, hot, and family-empty tunnel. I mean, Arizona is great, but I don’t want to live here any longer than necessary.Um, exciting news for me: I found some cloth diaper fabric at Joann’s and will be making some of my own! I’m very excited. I’ll let you know how they turn out! Huzzah!

Well, that’s all for now, so in closing, here are some videos of the latest and greatest in our Elliott-centered world:

Oh, and in case you don’t know what Adventure Time is: http://www.cartoonnetwork.com/tv_shows/adventuretime/index.html

Leave a Reply

