Raw Vegan… Wait, what?

That’s right, folks! Ryan and I are going raw! I can’t tell you how excited I am to try this new lifestyle. I’m having dreams of healthy, prepared, and well-thought-out meals three times a day, and tasty snacks of dry “breads” and fruits made in my new (old) dehydrator!

Why are we going raw? I know a lot of you are wondering it, and many of you might even ask it, so here’s the answer. We are really into the idea of eating more micro-nutrient foods, such as fruits, vegetables, nuts and seeds, because these items are the best way to get the energy from the sun into your body. When prepared in a raw diet they are in excellent condition to be digested and give your body all their wonderful nutrients. We want to rid our lives of heavy oils, fats, sugars and processed flour. I think what inspired me to make the change was how often I have to refrain from sharing what I’m eating with Elliott, because I don’t want to put that crap into her perfect little body. I mean, she has a clean slate. She hasn’t eaten McDonald’s hamburgers, or gorged on vending machine cookies. And I don’t want her to! The other day I was eating an apple, and when she reached for it, I was able to let her take a bite! It was adorable, and I loved it. I want everything I eat to be an opportunity for health, and for baby-cuteness.

We’re not going to do this all the time; we believe in moderation and in being human, not in perfection! And we’re not in it for weight loss (although a little of that action would be nice). We just want to be healthy, we want to live long enough to meet all of our grandkids, and to be great-grandparents. And I’m not saying being a raw vegan is the only way to accomplish those goals; it’s just the means by which we hope to start making our lives healthier.

Technically, Ryan is going to do a juice fast for 15-30 days (depending on how he feels) using these healthy, nutrient-packed juice recipes! I have to hold off while I’m nursing. When you juice fast all the toxins flush out of your body, and in the case of a lactating mother they would come out in my breastmilk. I’m pretty sure Elliott could do without a months-worth of toxic-milk shakes. So, while Ryan juices it up, I’ll just follow the raw vegan diet, and do one juice with Ryan at night. Uh. Uh. Gettin’ healthy.

Today was a big day. We’re starting everything tomorrow, so our fridge and pantry started their transformation today. Here’s the dehydrator I found on craigslist! It reminds me of the dehydrator my mom has, which reminds me of fruit leather and banana chips and delicious summer treats. I can’t wait to make treats for Elliott!

Our fridge/kitchen is full of fruits for the eating and juicing.

Um, ignore the butter on the shelf by the fruit…that’s leftover from our non-vegan days 🙂 And I’m sure we’ll still want some baked goods every now and then. It’s all about moderation.

And my pantry is off to a meager beginning. You are witnessing it here first, folks. The birth of my raw vegan pantry… I can’t wait to watch this bad boy transform.

buckwheat groats, pumpkin seeds, chia seeds, raw cashews, raw almonds, figs, dates....

I’m super pumped. We bought a raw vegan “cookbook” called Eat Raw, Eat Well, and it has tons of amazing, healthy recipes for all sorts of things. Next to all the delicious food items, I’m really excited to make some raw vegan mocktails! They look slammin’! Perchance we’ll have a mocktail party some summer evening? Yeah, definitely. Cheese plate with fancy cheese and dried fruits/bread.  It’s not gonna be vegan, but it’s on. Anyway, here’s the book that’s going to help us change our lives for the better.

Here’s a great review for the book

And on that note, I’m off to bed, to dream of my juicer coming in the mail tomorrow. Come to me, my maker of delicious juices… I have a coconut with which I desire to make coconut cream…

5 responses

  1. If it helps you eat healthier and makes you happy, why not? Just skip the juice cleanse. Cleanses are bogus and an insult to your kidneys. (Call them lazy, why they ought to…)

    • We’re not doing a “cleanse” per se; the juice recipes are loaded with nutrients the body needs to stay happy and healthy. I think the reason juice feasts (or fasts) get such a bad wrap is because people do it to dump weight, without thought for keeping their bodies healthy, and then they go back to eating all the crap they ate before. They can be wonderful when used as a super-charged starter for a healthy diet of mostly vegetables, fruits and seed/legumes, especially when it comes to breaking an addiction to the wrong kinds of foods, and re-solidifying what food means, and what forms it should take.

      • Sorry, I was thrown by the reference to toxins. I can see using it as a kickstarter. I’ll be watching how this turns out, keep us posted!

  2. Hey Emily, it’s Brittany, your old roomie. I think it is awesome that you guys are committed to doing this! It takes a lot of self control and planning to eat that way, I’m sure. Over the last few years I have been gradually cutting down on the crap I eat (processed foods) and trying to eat more fruits, vegetables, and whole grains. It was hard at first but I felt so much better. Then I found out I’m lactose intolerant, so that has motivated me even more to find healthier substitutes. And I am feeling better than ever! What you are doing is much more extreme, though, and I am impressed. Good luck!

    P.S. your daughter is adorable!

    • That sounds great, Brittany! I’m glad you’re feeling better. We’re feeling a lot better too, cutting out all of the processed sugars and chemicals was rough (what a pantry purge!) but we feel great. I have to say though, it’s been 2 weeks, and I’m still craving a cupcake…

Leave a Reply

