Happy Birthday, Baby

I can’t believe my little peanut is officially in toddler territory. One year old! Every time I think about that, the last year of my life feels like it has been in fast forward.

 

 

 

This year has been amazing, exhausting, inspiring and eye-opening. I’ve been stretched thinner than ever before, mentally and spiritually, and I feel like I’ve come out on the other side, more flexible, and happier than I ever been in my entire life. All the tears, the worry and heartbreak were far out-numbered by the moments of pure joy. Sometimes I’m so happy, and I love my family so much, I feel like I can’t contain it all inside me.

Little Elliott has changed and grown so much. She walks, she talks, she claps, dances, laughs, emotes, understands commands, eats (almost) all foods, she sleeps through the night (except when she’s teething, and then she’s awake and crying from 2:30 to 5:30…ugh), and she is so sweet and friendly. I don’t think Elliott has ever met a person she didn’t like. She loves to give hugs and loves to make people smile and laugh. My favorite thing in the whole world is to introduce Elliott to people I love and care about, and spending this time with our Robbins family has been wonderful. I can’t wait to re-introduce my sweet little girl to the Koebbe and Hudson families 🙂

Ok. Now for the pictures, everyone’s favorite part. These pictures are from Elliott’s birthday party, which was in the theme of The Very Hungry Caterpillar (one of Elliott’s favorite books). I had so much fun putting all of the details together, and sharing all of the treats with the family. Everyone seemed to have a really good time, and in the end, that’s what really matters. Elliott loved being the center of attention. She clapped, danced and smiled the day away! And boy oh boy, did she love her cake!

the treats

 

 

 

The Birthday Girl!

 

Elliott’s cousin Clara

 

 

 

The first bite

 

 

 

Is there enough for daddy?

 

from her head to her toes…

 

 

“ooooooh…”

 

Aunt Miquelle and Uncle Kevin

 

getting cleaned off

 

Aunt Miquelle (again!), Aunt Shelly and Uncle Tod

 

The party tent

 

The pinata!

 

Eating an orange, Hungry Caterpillar style

 

Clara hitting the pinata

 

Elliott’s cousin William

 

Our little friend, Simon

 

Daddy helped Elliott get a few good cracks at the pinata 🙂

 

PINATA!

 

Then the “grown ups” had a shot at the pinata (it was one tough strawberry)

I’d like to thank everyone for the wonderful and thoughtful gifts! Elliott loves all of them, as you could probably tell from her reactions to everything. (There were a lot of “oohs” and “aaaahs,” and a lot of clapping.

 

 

awesome stacking toy

 

“a TOY!”

 

a new stuffed animal to hug!

 

more beautiful clothes from Aunt Heather

 

Miquelle made Elliott a beautiful blanket

 

In closing, we did eventually break the pinata. Then we turned it into a hat.

 

 

 

 

5 responses

  1. Happy Birthday Elliot. I can’t believe it’s already been a year. Thank you for allowing us to follow her along her and your journey this past year 🙂

  2. Love the theme, Emily! Looks like you put a lot of work into it, super cute 🙂 Cute family, too! Can’t wait to see you guys soon

    • One of the cousins asked me right after the party what the theme for Elliott’s second birthday party was going to be and I said “Nothing.” I wouldn’t have gotten half of it done if it wasn’t for family volunteers 🙂 And I can’t wait to see you guys either!

Leave a Reply

