Fruit/Oat Bars for Babies

I recently bought some of the Ella’s Organic “Nibbly Fingers,” both the Strawberry/Apple and the Mango/Carrot, and Elliott LOVES them. But they are so expensive! Taking a quick look at the ingredient list inspired my “can-do” attitude, and I set off to accomplish creating my own, homemade nibbly fingers for my too-busy-to-sit-down-for-meals toddler.
I looked at the ingredients on the Ella’s box, and scrounged around in my pantry, as this was a whim ๐Ÿ™‚ and here’s what I came up with:

1 c ground oats (I ground old-fashioned Quaker oats in my Baby Bullet)

1/4 c raisins

5 prunes

1/4 cup steamed zucchini

a handful of blueberries

4 Tbsp coconut oil

 

1. Grind your oats in a blender or food processor

2. Puree your fruits & coconut oil into a paste

3. Fold the oats into your wet ingredients until it forms a “ball”

4. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper, as these will be sticky

5. Form the dough into 2″ long, 1/2″ thick bars

6. Bake the bars at 400 degrees F, for 15-20 minutes (I did 15 minutes, but if your oven cooks slowly, you might want to go for 20)

 

They came out perfectly! Well, not the density of the Ella’s bars, but they are naturally sweet, chewy, and they even have some vegetables in there! My daughter loves them (and I didn’t mind them either).

Well, happy baking. Let me know if you try the recipe, or if you make any changes. I’m not a professional!

14 responses

  1. Thank you for this tutorial. My toddler loves the nibbly fingers as well, but they are a little pricey. I had the same thought as you to make my own, but I was a little nervous until I found your tutorial. Thank you for sharing. I will let you know how it goes.

  2. I just made these for the first time today and they were wonderful! I roasted some raw sunflower seeded and ground it with the oats. I also added some raspberries with the blueberries!

  3. Was wondering how you stored them? Fridge? I made them with a small banana, blueberries and 1/4c of peanut butter turned out great next time I’ll add cinnamon. Also I only baked at 350 degrees worked fine, I didn’t read the baking instructions๐Ÿ˜ฌ
    Thanks for the idea!!

  4. These are so great! After buying the Nibblers I too wanted a DIY option, so thank you for this.

    Basically followed the recipe, but used mango chunks instead of berries. Then used coconut butter (manna) for half the oil. I didn’t completely process the oats either. I found it was way faster to roll the batter into balls and then smoosh them a little. Don’t have time to shape bars! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I can see this recipe getting a lot of replay in our house!

Leave a Reply

