Into the Woods

Elliott and I braved the travel to St. Louis, dragging our car seat and luggage through crowded airports. Thanks to some very helpful women we survived and it wasn’t miserable. But my I could feel it in my arms this morning… Woo! At first Elliott was enthralled with the airplane. But her excitement quickly melted away to her typical restlessness 🙂 At least I got her to sleep on me for 40 minutes towards the end of the flight!

Oooohhh….

St. Louis is COLD! (says the girl who’s been living in Arizona for the past three years). Poor Elliott doesn’t really know what to do with the chilly air. We stay inside and play a lot, but we’ve braved the chill for some beautiful walks through the woods. We even fed the chickens with grandpa!

But that was all yesterday! Today was the beginning of all the wonderful things! We took Elliott to Rombach’s Pumpkin patch! It’s a wonderful place for little and big kids alike. There are gigantic painted pumpkins, full-body stuffed characters from beloved pop culture, tortured, animatronic souls, an evil mermaid, playgrounds, a maze, and, yes, a GIANT PUMPKIN PYRAMID! Elliott had a blast; it was more than I hoped for.

pumpkin lovin’

Bert and Ernie!

The MAZE!

A cool concrete tunnel

Elliott loves tractors

I could wile away the hours
Conferrin’ with the flowers
Consultin’ with the rain
And my head I’d be scratchin’
While my thoughts were busy hatchin’
If I only had a brain

oooohhh, a pretty flower…

Top of the head ride?

This fort was the best. Elliott ran through the whole thing 3 times.

3 responses

  1. I love it! I want to be there where it’s chilly and there are pumpkins and all that jazzy fall stuff. And Emily you are still looking super incredible & SKINNY! And Elliott is THE SPITTING image of your momma. Hope you have the best time ever… and get home safe when your time there is over.

  2. What a wonderful array of beauty!!!!! Elliott is so adorable and she does look a lot like Carol! I loved seeing my brother!!! I love him and Carol so much!!! You and your parents always have good ideas to make for good times when you are together. I have always loved being there and love seeing you and that beautiful little girl, if it is only in pictures!!!!

Leave a Reply

